Completing a B.A on the road. I just did it!

Discussion in 'Experienced Truckers' Advice' started by ethos, Jan 18, 2018.

1. ethos

ethos Road Train Member

Mar 3, 2013
    Houston
    So, I just got my rough draft to my thesis back. I need to make two changes and resubmit it. Basically, it means that I am done with my degree. It feels amazing, truly amazing! I did 90% of the work in my sleeper, on the road as a OTR trucker the whole time. When I started my degree, I was with Trimac and running about 3,000 miles a week. Now at Superior, I run less but my appointment times are usually tighter. Basically, if I can do it, you probably can as well. I did it with a cheap laptop, two cellular plans and a tablet.

So let me go over some final numbers. I am a veteran and I was able to convert some of my military training into college credit. An entire years worth of credits to be precise. Also, I did 5 CLEP tests that cut down on my time. Altogether, 2 years and 1 month total. Took a month off when I went to Europe or that would be 2 years total. If you are a veteran and have the G.I Bill, you really should consider school. The reason is that you get paid a stipend and they pay for tuition and books. So, I made about 20,000 dollars going to school.
    But, if I had not been a veteran, it would have cost me right around 34,000 dollars for four years of school. Now, remember, even if you are not a veteran you can still CLEP an entire year worth of credits. That would bring the cost down to 25,000. If you pay your own way you also get some form of tax credits but that never applied to me since I used my benefits. I also want to add that I used a year of benefits in the apprentice program at Schneider and still had enough to complete my degree. I took 2 classes at a time, 8 week schedules. I did two semesters of 3 classes but those were brutally hard to do.

Hardest class: Algebra, it was brutal but I did find some calculators that made it much easier. Well, doable anyway.