Defining terms: "I'm leased on to a company"

Discussion in 'Ask An Owner Operator' started by mwehrle, Mar 2, 2018.

1. mwehrle

mwehrle Light Load Member

Feb 24, 2018
    Ogden, Utah
    I'm a newbie trying to get my learning on. Let's start with what is standard in the industry. We can cover exceptions to the rule later after we define the norm.

When we say someone is leased on to a company what do we mean? Generally speaking who is paying for what in the relationship?

What are the benefits to leasing on to a company versus being a company employee.

How is being leased on different from being an owner operator, or is it?

How does one come across opportunities to lease on when most job ads are for company employees?

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Blu_Ogre

Blu_Ogre Road Train Member

Jul 14, 2013
    Out west
    We kinda need to define several terms before we get to the details you are looking for......

Lets start with a pure form..... Independent Owner Operator: This person will own their truck (and most likely the trailer also). They are registered with the D.O.T. and have their own d.o.t number assigned to them. They have a direct to carry freight for a business that needs some stuff moved to a customer's location. They will also be in contact with a few brokers who will contract them for loads. The broker is supposed to be the one talking to a direct customer. The shipper contacts the broker and tells the broker to find a truck for the load and is the middleman negotiating the dollars to move the freight. the broker is paid a commission. The independent is responsible for all their insurances, licensing, taxes, tolls,....... everything legally required to run the truck. Also all the maintenance and repairs of their equipment.

ladr and IluvCATS Thank this.
  4. mwehrle

Feb 24, 2018
    Ogden, Utah
    Ok. Understood. So far so good.

5. Blu_Ogre

Jul 14, 2013