Dispatched loads wasting entire day

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by VW56, Mar 3, 2024.

1. VW56

VW56 Bobtail Member

Mar 5, 2023
    Hey guys I’m new to trucking and been out about a
    month by myself running reefer for swift. Just looking for a bit of advice as I could not really find an answer by googling these forums as I usually do. I’ll give a few scenarios that I have come across to explain.

So this has happened a few times now. Say I have a load that delivers at 7 am on 3/4 so I park up the day before as close as I can to have a fresh clock to deliver at 7 am. Say im predicting 2-3 hours for unload so I put my pta the day before for like 9:30 am. Well then I get sent a pre planned load from a planner that does not pick up until 3/4 at 10 pm. Essentially correct me if I’m wrong, but the only way I see it possible to pick up a load like that would be to immediately shut down for at least 8 hours to pause my 14 or just do a full 10 reset. Which at that point im just wasting an entire day I could be driving right?

Everytime I have asked if they have another load that can keep me moving they usually just end up removing the load from me without saying anything and I usually just end up sitting for the day and requesting layover pay. My question is am I crazy for thinking that it’s ridiculous for them to even send me a load like this? Or is this a pretty common occurrence in the trucking industry and I should just get used to it? I have no problem doing it if needed but personally I feel like they are just seeing if they can get a driver to accept it and screw them over.

Sorry if this was a bit long and I’d appreciate any advice or criticism from any experienced trucker.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Moosetek13

Moosetek13 Road Train Member

Nov 1, 2010
    Burnsville, MN