Do I need a school if already have my CDL?

Discussion in 'Trucking Schools and CDL Training Forum' started by atvtrailrider, Oct 18, 2018.

1. atvtrailrider

atvtrailrider Bobtail Member

Oct 18, 2018
    I am 55 and looking at beginning a driving career. I already have my CDL that I got about 9 years ago. I studied on my own, rented a truck, and took the test. I then spent about 6 months driving a truck/trailer for a race team and we were based out of IL. My first time in a manual transmission truck drove it from San Diego to Alabama.

I haven't drove since that fall after dropping the team truck off in San Diego. So I don't really have verify able experience. Owner of the race team is not around any longer.

1) Do I need to go to a school?

2) I am in Idaho, what is the best company to get some OTR experience with? Most all the local job listings say they want 6 months to 2 years OTR experience.

Thank You

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. OilBoomDreamer

OilBoomDreamer Light Load Member

Oct 18, 2018
    Best bet. Try and renew your CDL. If that works. You're golden. If not. Let me know.

4. pmdriver

pmdriver Road Train Member

Nov 14, 2017
    There is some companies that will train you on what is legal now, which was different that what was a decade ago. They have this thing called eld,s that may take a bit to get used to. Then the country has changed and finding out from some that have made it through those changes might give you some insight of what is happening out there now.

Chinatown Thanks this.
  5. Chinatown

Chinatown Road Train Member

Aug 28, 2011
    Henderson, NV & Orient
    Much has changed since 9 years ago. Some companies will road test you and if you do ok, they'll hire you.
    I don't have any names for that though. That's one of those deals where you knock on doors and ask.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~