Does an OTR Owner/Operator really have time to work on their own truck

Discussion in 'Ask An Owner Operator' started by esj7319, Feb 13, 2019.

1. esj7319

esj7319 Bobtail Member

Feb 13, 2019
    So here's my question...as an OTR Owner/Operator, do you really have time to do repairs on your truck? I'm a retired Veteran using the rest of my GI Bill to get my CDL. Then I plan on working as a company driver for a few years to get the experience I need to become an Owner/Operator. I will have enough time left to also go to diesel mechanic school, but I'm wondering if this will truly benefit me in the long run?? Will I even have time to do repairs if I'm out on the road all the time. Any and all clarity is appreciated!

Rideandrepair Thanks this.
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. chimbotano

chimbotano Heavy Load Member

Apr 21, 2013
    lots of factors can go in. I had 3 trucks , 10 yers old average, and drivers . Work Monday -Friday . But , as a owner I had to spend my weekends fixing things , it was all the time . So, I had to put in a scale my way of doing business or my family.
    I sold my trucks, I bought a fairly new truck and a new reefer . I drive otr enough to support my family and I try to prevent break downs . Since 2015 the only thing I did in my truck is change the shocks. I paid some else to do my regular maintenance. I haven’t had big problems so far .
    If you buy an old truck most likely you will have to stop working to repair. If you buy newer truck , most likely you will not stop working to repair , however you never know . Everything is a risk and as long as you understand that , you will be fine .

86scotty, Rideandrepair and esj7319 Thank this.
  4. mover man

mover man Road Train Member

Feb 21, 2010
    Some will tell you that you will be busy running to work on truck.
    Others will say they do all the work on thier truck them self.