Dot Hos Question

Discussion in 'Trucking Industry Regulations' started by Mp066777, Nov 4, 2022.

1. Mp066777

Mp066777 Bobtail Member

Nov 4, 2022
    I work as a fulltime route salesman for a chip distributing company and I am unsure if the 60-7/ 70-8 applies to me or if I am exempt. I keep reading conflicting information online.

My drivetime per week is under 15 hours per week, and spend less than 50% of hours worked. I also have a part time job(not sure if that matters)

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. ‘Olhand

‘Olhand Cantankerous Crusty

Jan 18, 2011
    What are you driving and how far away(straight line) is the furthest business you service from your origin point??

4. Mp066777

Mp066777 Bobtail Member

Nov 4, 2022
    Its a non cdl transit van that drives no more than 50 air miles.

I found this:

Who is a ‘driver-salesperson’?

A ‘driver-salesperson’ category of employee is defined in Part 395 as someone who is employed solely by a private carrier of property by commercial motor vehicle. What this entails is not moving another motor carrier’s goods for hire.

You must be engaged in selling goods, services, or the use of goods. You may be delivering by commercial motor vehicle of the goods sold or provided, upon which the services are performed.

You must remain entirely within a radius of 100 miles of the point at which you report for duty.

You must also not devote more than 50% of your hours on duty to driving. As an FYI, the 50% of driving in the definition of driving time is determined on a weekly basis.

I fit that status but im unsure of when it says:

‘driver-salesperson’ category of employee is defined in Part 395 as someone who is employed solely by a private carrier of property by commercial motor vehicle. What this entails is not moving another motor carrier’s goods for hire."