Dry van vs flatbed for a fairly new driver?

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by Jbrown87, Apr 24, 2024.

1. Jbrown87

Jbrown87 Light Load Member

Nov 7, 2023
    Hey everyone, I have been doing dryvan for about 4 months I’m thinking of switching to flatbed the pay is better an seems like they keep running. I may switch within my carrier in currently with (western express) or go to a different carrier paying more. What do you guys like? Anyone loving flatbed, I think I want to learn something different and get out of the truck more? Advice?

77fib77, Kyle G. and Numb Thank this.
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. bryan21384

bryan21384 Road Train Member

Sep 18, 2009
    Memphis, TN
    If you're thinking about exploring flatbed with Western, they will be glad to switch you with a quickness. They always have more of a demand for flatbed drivers. They will train you on how to secure pretty much anything. Then they run all 48 states. You'll get a good dose of cross country runs. There was a guy on here that's running for them and he got a load from Baltimore to Portland, OR, and I think to Colorado from Portland. I ran flatbed for them back in the day and it actually was a lot of fun. You'll probably have to go with a trainer for a bit to get practice with load securement, but I recommend it. I think flatbed is the better division if you drive for Western. Stay where you are and just go flatbed so you can get some more experience, and then when you get really comfortable, move on to greener pastures.

4. Jbrown87

Nov 7, 2023
    Oh ok I have another company offering way more money for just hauling steel, you think I should still stay to show consistency a pay my dues here ?

77fib77 and Numb Thank this.
  5. Jbrown87

Nov 7, 2023
    I
    just asked my dm about that

bryan21384 Thanks this.
  6. Big Road Skateboard

Big Road Skateboard Road Train Member