Engine loads up with Raw fuel at idle

Discussion in 'Heavy Duty Diesel Truck Mechanics Forum' started by Nicholaska, Mar 15, 2017.

1. Nicholaska

Nicholaska Bobtail Member

Oct 31, 2015
    Got a C 15 550 cat engine it loads up with raw fuel whenever it's not under load if you put a load on it cleans up it'll go back down to idle running smooth then all the sudden starts loading up with Raw fuel and smoke the whole parking lot up. I have tried everything and need some ideas. Engine is 1998 with fresh in frame. I've tried fuel pump housing. And pump ,wiring, injectors, ecms, cam and cam gears, clear fuel lines in and out of engine with no air of any kind all sensors too. Tried crank calibration tool on it and told me it was ok. Also pinned the crankshaft and set cam gear to the mark. Nothing seems to work. I'm just an average mechanic. This engine will clear up under load but takes a bit to clear up and when you let it idle it's fine for about 15 seconds and then it starts loading up again real bad smoking horrible and popping if you start to give it some throttle.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. maggard359

maggard359 Medium Load Member

Nov 20, 2013
    Florida
    Sounds like you done spent enough money. Hillbilly way pull your turbo and manifold off. Start truck and locate which hole or holes the smoking is coming from. Once you find the hole that is smoking remove rockers and jakes and both injectors under that set. Swap places with injectors and bolt everything back down. Start truck and see if smoke stayed or followed the injector. If smoke stayed you have a wiring problem. If it moved the injector is bad. If you have a infrared gun you can eliminate the manifold removal most of the time. Injector drivers have been known to go bad also in the ecm but you will have multiple cylinders smoking more than likely with that.

nax Thanks this.
  4. GrapeApe