Ever deliberately stopped in the middle of the street to make a turn?

Discussion in 'Experienced Truckers' Advice' started by expedite_it, May 20, 2024.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. expedite_it

expedite_it Road Train Member

Sep 8, 2012
    I've been a trucker for ten years. When making a left hand turn, I would estimate that about ten times in my career I have waited until there was no traffic coming from the left, and I have pulled out into the middle of the street and deliberately blocked traffic from my left, and I just waited out in the middle of the street until there was no traffic coming from the right to complete my left hand turn.

Here is a drawing of what I did:

Left hand turn --- the truckers report.jpg

In the drawing above, my tractor-trailer is the blue tractor-trailer. I just pulled out and stopped just where the blue truck stopped in the drawing. When I am making a left-hand turn, I only pull out into the street and deliberately stop in the middle of the street after waiting to turn for ten minutes. I actually time it when I am making a left hand turn on very busy streets. I only need to do this about once per year. When I deliberately stop in the middle of the street like this, I feel like if I don't pull out and stop in the middle of the street, I will be waiting to make the left hand turn all day. That would also block all the motorists behind me all day also.