Finding a O/O to practice with before heading to school...

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by falconbowhunter, Mar 10, 2012.

1. falconbowhunter

falconbowhunter Bobtail Member

Dec 27, 2011
    Findlay, Ohio
    I've got my permit and I was thinking it would really be nice to get a handle on what shifting and handling such a big truck would entail before I leap both feet first into getting loans for school. How would I go about finding someone in my area that would be willing to teach a total newbie the basics of truck handling?

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Allow Me.

Allow Me. Trucker Forum STAFF Staff Member

May 28, 2009
    Rancho Mirage, Ca.
    That's a good idea...however, not that easy to accomplish. So you want to let a perfect stranger allow you to just jump in HIS pride and joy, chromed up Pete and "try" out shifting and driving, right ? To see if you like it ? Even if this would happen, driving is just a small part of trucking, which fools a lot of newbies in the beginning. They don't realize there's more than just hopping on the interstate in Ca. and jumping off in Jersey.

RickG Thanks this.
  4. Peterbeatinit

Peterbeatinit Medium Load Member

Mar 8, 2012
    San Antonio Tx
    First is insurance..Most owner ops with their own trailers etc are independents who carry their own load insurance and so on..there are strict restrictions

along with what the previous posters said..Now..if you wanted to practice in a controlled environment, call a local trucking company and see if they would allow you to practice small thins like shifting in their yard..Some will some won't..they may even allow a driver hanging around the shop help you with backing and I guarantee it will be in the yard queen but hey..its worth the shot..