General HP40W conversion

Discussion in 'CB Radio Forum' started by juanveldez, Nov 29, 2013.

1. juanveldez

juanveldez Light Load Member

Apr 24, 2007
    Iron Mountian MI
    So I am curious by nature.... I recently got a General HP40W as a gift from my uncle. I am curious on a few things, first exactly what are they doing when they do the conversion? and second what does it do? I obviously dont plan on doing it myself ( sometimes I wish I had the know how, would save me a bundle of money) I am new to the whole 10 meter radio and what to know all about it.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. TheDude1969

TheDude1969 Heavy Load Member

Jun 10, 2013
    Joliet, Il
    Nice Uncle you have! The conversion allows the radio into the CB band, and takes not much more than opening the cover and moving a connection.

Assuming you want to use it as a CB radio, you don't need to know anything about 10meter, just keep it on "D" when its done.

Cost $30-40 for alignment and tune, the conversion is so simple no one would charge while getting the tune done with cover off. Or forget about the tune and do it yourself with a screwdriver to pull cover off and watch youtube on how its done... a 4yr old can do it. <---not meant with any disrespect to OP or 5yr olds.

4. juanveldez

juanveldez Light Load Member

Apr 24, 2007
    Iron Mountian MI
    Yeah it was a trade for a GPS plus Christmas and my birthday all rolled into one. That being said I figured I better find out what to look for searched YouTube didn't see anything other than a few reviews. I am still trying to figure out why they would put a inline fuse on the ground wire too.

5. TheDude1969

TheDude1969 Heavy Load Member

Jun 10, 2013
    Joliet, Il
    juanveldez Thanks this.
  6. chewy78

chewy78 Bobtail Member

Nov 3, 2014