Hauling Two 40'

Discussion in 'Trucking Industry Regulations' started by Dam1975, Apr 4, 2024.

1. Dam1975

Dam1975 Bobtail Member

Apr 4, 2024
    Hi guys, Im new to the industry, and hope someone can give me an insight on something that im researching in. Im looking at the possibility of hauling two 40 footers in a semi in greater Vancouver area. I was considering both A-train double with a dolly or a B-Train double configuration, but the total box length according to CVSE is limited to max 20m for both. This will only accommodate a 40 footer and a 20 footer in two trailers. Does anyone has an idea of how to overcome this? even with a permit. If so, what would be the best combination? Thanks guys

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Allow Me.

Allow Me. Trucker Forum STAFF Staff Member

May 28, 2009
    Rancho Mirage, Ca.
    Not sure I can help, but I lived in Idaho many years ago. We could haul a long trailer and a pup with a long draw bar. We had to adhere to length limits. I believe Wa. had same rules. Hauling triples was the same RE: length limit. ( 105 Ft) I've seen double 48' trailers on some toll rd in Mass or N.Y. only allowed on the pike, had to break them before getting off. This was years ago, not sure what's allowed now.

Dam1975 Thanks this.
  4. Ex-Trucker Alex

Ex-Trucker Alex Heavy Load Member

Jan 7, 2023
    MA and NY also require an LCV license to haul 48' and 53' 'turnpike doubles'. You need a minimum of 5 years experience and a good driving record to get this license.
    Some Western states which permit triple pups also allow like 42' doubles, but that's only 3 or 4 states. Maybe states which allow 'mountain doubles' (48' and a 28') might allow these. I know Navajo has a few of these 40'-ish double sets for very specific contracts.