HELP - Looking to go out on my own - Bakken Oil fields, ND

Discussion in 'Oilfield Trucking Forum' started by PureEvil, Jan 30, 2013.

1. PureEvil

PureEvil Light Load Member

Hello, well I have been working at a company for a few months now and it has been ok. Due to some changes in management that I dont like, and a slow down in work I have decided to try and do my own thing.

Here is the situation:

One of the guys I work with is not a driver but has a good truck sitting around, I have talked with him about letting me drive it and he seems to be good with that. We would split it right down the middle, he owns the truck and I drive it, we split any costs. This seems like it could be a much better deal for me, and he can put his truck to work. He told me to see what the options are, and to let him know whats up.

The Problem:

I have never tried to do my own thing like this before, and have no idea where to start, who to talk to, how much I should be making, What I should haul, etc...

The Questions I have:

What should I haul? ( I would like to stay away from hazmat and all the issues that go with it, but Iam open to the idea)

How much should we be getting paid?

Do we want per load or per hour pay?

What "perks" should I be getting from the lease or oil company? (fuel, maintenance, use there trailers, etc.)

How often do the companies pay, and what do I do if they dont?

What companies do I need to stay away from, and/or What are the signs of a bad company?

How long of a agreement do I need to sign with a company?

Where do I even begin to look for a good company to work with?

Whats your best estimate on the cost to run the truck per day?