High Wind Driving

Discussion in 'Canadian Truckers Forum' started by godavid, Oct 16, 2011.

1. godavid

godavid Bobtail Member

Jun 14, 2011
    GTA
    Hi guys, I'm a new driver. I drove a 53' truck trailer at Hwy17 arround wawa ON. last night. The wind was strong at the time. my load was light, about 7k lbs. Suddenly, the truck was pushed by the wind all the way going to the left side ditch. Truck was turning over, at last second I got the weel controled and forced to turn back to my lane. It was so scary. Thanks god there was no traffic on another side at the time. I need couple of days staying at hm to get this horrible piece out of my mind. Could anybody gives me some tips how to drive semi trailer in high wind? Thanks

GSWx Thanks this.
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Biscuit75

Biscuit75 Road Train Member

Slow down. When you are light and the wind is that bad wait it out. Expect sudden slams of wind as you come out from overpasses. Also when your passing a tree line and it ends you'll get hit with that first blast of wind pretty hard. Wind coming off open fields is usually the worst.

4. tinytim

tinytim Road Train Member

Oct 29, 2007
    Northern Ontario
    Stay alert, relaxed and keep your hands on the wheel.

Went through that area yesterday with about the same weight. There were some really strong winds but nothing that should have caused that to happen.

godavid and GSWx Thank this.
  5. Mr Bee

Mr Bee Bobtail Member

Apr 13, 2011
    Midland Ontario
    This is the worst time of year for high winds along the east shore of Lake Superior. It was gale force winds that sank the lake freighter, the Edmond Fitzgerald. There is a line in the song about the lake freighter, referring to the gale force winds of November.
    It's not quite November yet, but it's getting closer.

godavid Thanks this.
  6. Old Tom

Old Tom Light Load Member

Sep 22, 2010