How come no one mentioned how much work is involved for authority audit?

Discussion in 'Ask An Owner Operator' started by TruckRunner, Nov 19, 2018.

1. TruckRunner

TruckRunner Heavy Load Member

Dec 21, 2017
    Is it as overwhelming as it seems? Especially while I am on the road and having to swing by my house to provide documentation as if I am running a business bigger than Swift. I just thought I would pay some fees and fill out basic application files like everything else and be done with it. Now I have to fill out 50 forms and become a lawyer in order to drive a truck? If I had known this before signing up for an authority I would have not done it. I am not sure if I will even pass the audit I am not a lawyer who has unlimited time to sit down and fill out all of that bs. I just know how to drive a truck and do my logbook that's all.

Last edited: Nov 19, 2018
    Mattflat362 Thanks this.
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. stayinback

stayinback Road Train Member

Jan 24, 2014
    chicago,il
    Hang in there Tiger....Its Not that bad- It was worse years ago when the FMCSA wasn't giving out authorities like Candy-

You wont get Fined- They'll Come in and sit down with you and make sure your doing things rigfht.

lol,Did you really think having Authority was easy? Your Not going to have operating Authority and just Drive a Truck.... If that was the case-Everyone would have authority.

This is a Big Step-With Responsibility...Which Entitles paperwork-Filings- maintenance reports-logs,on and on. Really Not a Big Deal- Your not gonna just sit in a drivers seat-Negotiate your $1.92 freight with Brokers and "Drive" lol,Don't work that way

86scotty, KB3MMX, whoopNride and 4 others Thank this.
  4. TruckRunner

Dec 21, 2017