How did you learn to drive?

Discussion in 'Experienced Truckers' Advice' started by Giggles the Original, Apr 29, 2013.

How did YOU learn to drive??

1. *

self taught??

25.9%
  2. *

taught by family member

27.0%
  3. *

Private training

6.9%
  4. *

trucking school

31.6%
  5. *

Company Trained

10.9%
  1. Giggles the Original

Giggles the Original Road Train Member

So I am curious.

I see lots of people, myself included complain that the newbies dont have enough training nowadays.

Or that trainees are training trainees.

So, with that being said, we know that a TON of older, old school drivers, DIDNT have a trainer.

Many were thrown the keys and told to go truckin.....thats how my husband learned 29 (30 this year) years ago.

I can think of several drivers on this forum that learned to same way.

So whats different?? I mean its not like it used to be, you cant just jump in the truck and go truckin....

But what makes it different now, why did the old school drivers, not need a trainer, but the new generation does?

I dont agree with newbies teaching newbies, because IMO, they arent experienced enough to "teach" anything.

What do y'all think??

Would also like to know, how long do you think trucking school courses should be?

For the record, i went to driving school (1991) before i met hubby...but it was a 2 1/2 month course in CO, in the mtns in the snow....altho that still isnt long enough.

PLEASE lets not turn this into cutting each other down either....if this has alrdy been addressed, I am sorry, but I havent seen it....

dont forget to vote plz...thx

Last edited: Apr 29, 2013
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. g22mac

g22mac Light Load Member

Nov 11, 2009
    clinton, wi