How do they make any money?

Discussion in 'Motor Carrier Questions - The Inside Scoop' started by WildTxn, Feb 19, 2018.

1. WildTxn

WildTxn Light Load Member

Feb 19, 2018
    I am a new OTR company driver with only 3 months, although I've had my CDL for 6 years prior. Had a bad experience with a Mega (not naming names) and am changing jobs. I see they all play similar tricks in this area. From previous experience as a business owner, I would like to know how these mega's make any money constantly training new drivers with the extreme turnover they have on the bottom end of the driver pool? Are they getting government subsidies or something for the training programs? It also seems that the constant inflow of unskilled drivers substantially increases their RISK. With so many voraciously feeding piranha's (attorneys) around, how can they do this?

Now I am not a youngster, and trucking is a lot of work, but for some strange reason I can't wait to get back on the road. There seems to be something about being in different places all the time that is addictive. I actually worked a lot harder when in my own non-trucking business. The biggest challenge seems to be the truck stop Roulette game with the HOS clock as the wheel. Stop too soon and yah loose valuable drive time for the day, wait too late and you might get an HOS violation trying to find a place to lite.

I see that the good money seems to be in O/O with own authority, but one definitely has to climb the ladder first.

FullMetalJacket and x1Heavy Thank this.
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Chinatown

Chinatown Road Train Member

Aug 28, 2011
    Henderson, NV & Orient