How is a truck driver different than a steering wheel holder?

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by The Hardcard, Nov 16, 2008.

1. The Hardcard

The Hardcard Bobtail Member

Aug 3, 2008
    Los Angeles, CA
    I see forum posters make this distinction alot, but I'll be honest, I don't know what the difference is. And I'd like to know.

I have been driving tractor trailers for more than 5 years, but only went OTR in September. I have seen all kinds of behavior out there, but I don't know what I am looking at. Or even about myself for that matter.

Just curious if there is any particular criteria, or if it just an epithet when someone ticks you off.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. notarps4me

notarps4me Road Train Member

Jan 1, 2007
    NASA HQ
    A lot of the respect and value of others is extinct. When someone refers to a steering wheel holder it is one who cares for nothing, but himself. He does not share the road. He merely steers his truck and doesn't do squat other than hold the wheel.

psanderson Thanks this.
  4. Coonass

Coonass "Freshy Fresh"

Sep 23, 2008
    Well put Monkey boy.:yes2557:

5. BullGoose

BullGoose Light Load Member

May 2, 2008
    New Effington, SD
    NoTarps is right. It has to do with class, respect and professionalism. No half arsing around. If you are simply marking time collecting a paycheck till something better comes along, you're a stearing wheel holder. If you are doing this job, and doing it well because it is built into you, you are a truck driver.

heyns57 and Joetro Thank this.
  6. pathfinder

pathfinder Medium Load Member

Aug 25, 2007
    central,MN