How Is Driving For Knight?

Discussion in 'Knight' started by movinalong, Oct 7, 2006.

1. movinalong

movinalong Bobtail Member

Oct 7, 2006
    West Coast
    :wave: Hi to any body out there! Iam new at this, but can any one driving for Knight or has drove for them give me some talk & discuss on the company? I'm a new driver & want to drive for a company that will put me in California & Oregon on the 5. Thanks to you!

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. jamwadmag

jamwadmag Road Train Member

Feb 28, 2006
    Desert Southwest
    Been driving for Knight out of Phx for 3 years now. Use to drive the I5 a lot but always got stranded in Portland for a day or two before getting out!! Knight yard in Seattle is a 'postage stamp!'---can't turn around with a Pete 379. Knight has good & bad points---no forced dispatch, home weekly, decent trucks, but has one of the lowest trailer-to-tractor ratios---about 2:1. Means lots of looking for MT's!! I think that the driver turn-over rate is now approaching Swifts!! They used to be a great co. about 5-6 years ago, but have turned into a Swift-wannabee co.! They specialize in "cheap freight"---freight nobody (other than Swift) wants! Lots of crappy customers...good luck! Just treading water until I retire in couple of years,

4. skullitor

skullitor Medium Load Member

Aug 5, 2005
    New England
    Knight is a garbage outfit! Especially The Carlisle,PA terminal.

5. maddawg36432

maddawg36432 Bobtail Member

Dec 29, 2006
    the worst job ive ever had. they still owe me over $400.00 and thats been three years ago.they will also send you to new york city when your supposed to be running s.e. regional. avoid this company at all cost!!!!!!!!!!!

6. Gearjammin' Penguin

Gearjammin' Penguin "Ride Fast-Truck Safe"

Feb 18, 2007
    Central AZ
    Oh, come on. I've been to that yard, and there's plenty of room to turn around!