How to NOT get bored of driving?

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by Canadianhauler21, Sep 20, 2020.

1. Canadianhauler21

Canadianhauler21 Heavy Load Member

May 15, 2017
    I have been driving for nearly two years in the last 3 years.

Every few months 3-5 months I really start getting bored with driving. It's not even the lifestyle that I'm sick of, just the driving portion. Don't get me wrong, I LOVE driving. After my resets I thoroughly enjoy that first day returning to driving. Followed by a sharp drop off in interest.

After a few weeks of not driving I'm good again for another 3-5 months. Anyone have a similar issue with driving? Anytime my company sends me for a 3000 mile week I dread those long running the clock to near max 10.5 hours drive time per day.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Blue Zombie Trucker

Blue Zombie Trucker Light Load Member

Nov 1, 2017
    It takes me longer to get to that point, but yeah, I hear ya. I listen to a LOT of audiobooks, podcasts, sometimes some music. For me, the change of seasons helps a lot, and also, this is exactly why I run OTR... I find the variety helps me stay interested longer.

4. Dockbumper

Dockbumper Road Train Member

Apr 29, 2020
    I often wonder how warehouse workers don't get bored with their jobs. :D

5. MericanMade

MericanMade Heavy Load Member

Aug 14, 2019
    Pensacola, FL
    I have been installing cabinets for nearly 26 years in the last 30 years.

Every few months 3-5 months I really start getting bored with carpentry. It's not even the lifestyle that I'm sick of, just the air nailing portion. Don't get me wrong, I LOVE carpentry. After my weekends of binge drinking I thoroughly enjoy that first day returning to cutting miters. Followed by a sharp drop off in interest.