Hub oil

Discussion in 'Trucks [ Eighteen Wheelers ]' started by Dumbitfown4me, Aug 20, 2019.

1. Dumbitfown4me

Dumbitfown4me Bobtail Member

Aug 20, 2019
    Phoenix
    Hi guys,
    I'm a newer driver, about 1 year solo. Just trying to understand the hub oil/hub and how it relates to me. Currently waiting for shop to fix steer axle oil leak. I drive a 2016 cascadia.
    Can you explain the hub assembly to me
    What is the most effective way to find a leak early/ where to look.
    Do you always smell gear oil if it leak
    Please help me learn about this so as to be a safer driver

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Cattleman84

Cattleman84 Road Train Member

Nov 1, 2017
    The Sticks, Idaho
    The easiest way to spot a leaking hub seal will be the streaks of oil radiating out from the hub on the inside of the rim and tire.

Once they go they go fast.

4. Dumbitfown4me

Aug 20, 2019
    Phoenix
    Thank you, please comment more, I don't know much about mechanics so need all the details people can give me.

5. x1Heavy

x1Heavy Road Train Member

Mar 5, 2016
    White County, Arkansas
    I have not dealt with hubs on anything built after 1992 with the exception of trailers and steers. Those hubs do matter but are usually sealed. ONCE in a while you find a hub that has a small center removable rubber cap, after cooling the wheel over a short time, pop the cap, stick a finger in there and it should cover your 2nd knuckle or close to it.

I include all the wheels, bearings etc in my pretrip. But there isnt anything above and beyond to be a "Safer driver" that is a state of mind. If you find a defect your company is required to fix the defect and sign your DVIR that it is repaired and safe to go.