I didn't fall asleep. What's my best course of action?

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by anonyscrewed, Oct 24, 2021.

1. anonyscrewed

anonyscrewed Bobtail Member

Oct 24, 2021
    This'll probably get long, so thank you in advance for reading through it. I'll try to make it as easy to read as possible.

I'm currently a team driver. Three days ago, we ended a much-longer-than-34 hour reset; the truck was in the shop, and we spent several days in the hotel.

Two nights ago, I had a little trouble falling asleep, but that's okay because I slept for an additional two hours passed the time I usually get up to start my shift. In all, I got about seven and a half hours of sleep.

So I got plenty of sleep before starting my shift yesterday. I got up, did my PTI, had breakfast, and started driving. At this point, I'm feeling angry over about a dozen different things, but otherwise fine. Definitely awake.

About fifty minutes of driving later (I was driving in the mountains and monitoring the trip details to keep an eye on my MPG), I started feeling nauseous. I figured it was just my breakfast not sitting well, so I continued driving. A couple minutes later, I started to feel dizzy. Big red flag. So I put my foot on the brake, apply pressure, and immediately black out.

The tractor stopped after drifting about 400 yards away from the lane I started in, stopped by getting caught on a railroad track. Thankfully the only damage was to the tractor, trailer, and a livestock fence. And my face.

I woke up when my head slammed into the steering wheel.

The people in the ambulance checked my blood sugar. It was fine. Blood pressure fine. Got to the hospital. EKG and CAT scan turn out fine as well.