I have a student that can not plan without GPS

Discussion in 'Experienced Truckers' Advice' started by wise2727, Nov 13, 2018.

1. wise2727

wise2727 Light Load Member

Sep 25, 2015
    I am a trainer, and currently have a student in his 5th week. He's a good driver, good at backing, even good at planning where he's going to stop. When we pick up a load to Route plan he will type it in the GPS or Google Maps, then use the atlas to confirm that it is a truck route. Unfortunately he cannot at all plan his route from just the atlas.
    This is only caused a problem once, when we were going from Johnson City Tennessee to San Antonio Texas. He could not figure out how to get there without using I-10 (tropical storm coming through). My question to others is: how big of a problem is this in today's world? Would you feel comfortable signing off on a student that can't figure out how to get from Joplin Missouri to Amarillo etc without a GPS.?

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. STexan

STexan Road Train Member

Oct 3, 2011
    Longview, TX
    Simple. Remove the GPS and give them the atlas and tell him to plan the cross-country portion and he can have the GPS the last 10 miles.

Does he/she know where the Mileage Directory and "Miles/Minutes" map is in the back of the Atlas? Do they understand how to read and add the red "distance ticks" on the various maps? Can they draw a straight line between Begin and End on the United States Map in front, and try and stay close to this line? Before GPS this is all we had and we managed.

4. SteerTire

SteerTire Road Train Member

Nov 5, 2018
    Behind the wheel
    It’s a huge problem. And getting worse.

As an instructor, you should simply remove the GPS, cover any company provided GPS for a week. And teach him how to read a map.

5. misterG

misterG Road Train Member

Jan 21, 2009
    ask my dispatcher