I start school in fort wayne oct 10 2011

Discussion in 'PAM' started by nsmith71402, Oct 6, 2011.

1. nsmith71402

nsmith71402 Bobtail Member

Oct 2, 2011
    niles,mi
    Ive been unemployed for quiet awhile now and decided that I would try my hand at truck driving. Alot of my family drives so we talked about what companys and all the other things that goes with it. I have a degree in electronics technologies and now im heading to c1 in fort wayne IN to learn the trucking trade on Oct 10 (also my birthday). So wish me luck thanks. any tips if youve been there would help thanks. i live in niles,MI for anyone thats going too.

mattbh23 Thanks this.
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. djtrype

djtrype Heavy Load Member

Jan 3, 2009
    New Orleans
    Just some words of advice for school.

-Learn EVERYTHING that you can i.e. Logs, backing, pre-trip, etc.
    -Back as much and as often as you can, straight line, 45 and 90 degree backing.
    -Logs - understand the Hours Of Service and split sleeper berth

Then when you get on a trainer's truck, forget everything they told you other than the above and you'll be OK. Always keep in mind that they're just there to get you your CDL, but optimize your time in school to practice all of the above so when you do finally get on a trainer's truck, you're prepared in some ways.

Lastly, remember this isn't just a job, but also a lifestyle.

Good luck in your new venture.

4. nsmith71402

Oct 2, 2011
    niles,mi
  5. Noggin

Noggin Road Train Member

Apr 10, 2011
    Houston, TX
    Don't even bother with the split sleeper. It will just confuse you, and there is really no point in doing it, the way PAM sets their crap up. If you take an 8 hour break, might as well just wait 2 more for your 10..

I think in over 2 years at PAM, I only did a split sleeper twice, and it didn't really save me any time or get me to where I was going any faster.