I'm rebuilding a 1996 Peterbuilt 3406e CAT with a 13 speed

Discussion in 'Lease Purchase Trucking Forum' started by Peterbuilt1013, Dec 31, 2018.

1. Peterbuilt1013

Peterbuilt1013 Light Load Member

Dec 29, 2018
    Chicago
    I'm fairly new to trucking. I don't want the headaches of owning an authority and trying to find drivers to earn CPM over the road. As of right now, I purchased an old cattle truck that is pretty solid. I have it in the garage and tearing down the motor and transmission. For the most part, this is a very fun project. I've thought about leasing it out like what Penske does. About twice a week I get a phone call from drivers who are asking me for a truck to rent. I really not sure if that's the best idea to have random drivers in an older truck.

Do you think there would be a lot of drivers interested in lease to purchase an older truck? It was be exempt from ELD rule, no emissions. Plus I'll do a few perks that drivers want. TV, Satellite system, cellphone boost, Fridge, Microwave and custom surround sound. I'm assuming newer vs older trucks is a hot debate. In my opinion I want older trucks. DPF systems and computers annoy me.

D.Tibbitt Thanks this.
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. gokiddogo

gokiddogo Road Train Member

Mar 5, 2012
    Ontario Canada
    One way or another this square peg is going in that round hole eh lol

4. Humblepie

Humblepie Pontificator

Dec 25, 2018
    Doesn’t sound like a good business plan. 2 reasons.
    1.) you are going to spend a ton of money just to have someone else rag it out.

2.) any driver worth a darn with any money will already have his own truck.

5. Humblepie

Humblepie Pontificator

Dec 25, 2018
    And if he doesn’t have money it’s probably because he isn’t very smart with money. Which mean you’ll get the shaft.

KB3MMX and Opendeckin Thank this.
  6. Peterbuilt1013

Dec 29, 2018
    Chicago