Interstate 11 Vegas to Phoenix and the SW in general....

Discussion in 'Questions To Truckers From The General Public' started by Phenomenal, Feb 15, 2018.

1. Phenomenal

Phenomenal Light Load Member

Feb 12, 2018
    Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
    I just finished watching a youtube video of a OTR trucker traveling through the southwest US. He posts all his routes on youtube. I was just wondering, and please excuse the stupid question, but as a soon-to-be OTR trucker, I wanna get myself down there ASAP. That is some beautiful country and the roads are wide open through the deserts. Is there a lot of competition for those routes? I have to imagine if you had the choice between the northeast and southwest the SW would win every time !! Thanks in advance.

Steel Dragon Thanks this.
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. STexan

STexan Road Train Member

Oct 3, 2011
    Longview, TX
    No, if you're with the right carrier, you'll see plenty of all of the southwest. But keep in mind there are lots of carriers who will never go anywhere near the southwest so you'll want to choose your home location and and carrier carefully if you're looking to avoid a region or concentrate on a region..

4. lovesthedrive

lovesthedrive R.I.P.

Nov 11, 2008
    Sorrento Maine
    First get through the training. Find out the big IF of if you can handle the life style of trucking. Not everyone can handle the life of trucking. Get that done and get on the road. Southwest tends to be good for miles with lots of emptyness. Yet there are parts of I-80 that feature the same. At some point you WILL have to drive in snow. California does get snow, so if your trying to avoid winter driving, your in for a surprise.

Phenomenal Thanks this.
  5. Powder Joints

Powder Joints Subjective Prognosticator

Sep 25, 2007
    Rosamond, SoCal
    Not much compared to the rest of the country,

Phenomenal Thanks this.