Is $0.55 per Mile a Good Starting Rate for New Truck Drivers?

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by MLTrucker, May 20, 2024.

1. MLTrucker

MLTrucker Bobtail Member

Sep 13, 2022
    I should start by saying that I have no experience driving trucks. However, my family owned a large truck salvage company in the Midwest during the 60s, 70s, and 80s. I spent many weeks in the junkyard, climbing over trucks and pulling parts.

I'm new to the industry and have a question from a position of inexperience.

I recently received an offer letter from KLLM for CDL training and a driving position. They offered me a starting rate of $0.55 per mile.

Is this a good starting rate for someone new to the industry? From what I know, companies like Schneider and Swift start their new drivers in the $0.40s per mile range, so this seems pretty good to me!

I'm looking to gather information from the more experienced drivers here in the TTR forum.

Thanks!!

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Flat Earth Trucker

Flat Earth Trucker Road Train Member

Nov 19, 2018
    The key words here are "starting rate".
    While 55 cpm is a low starting wage, there's likely a promise of an increased cpm rate over time.

You should speak to a recruiter if you have not already done so.

Bumper Thanks this.
  4. Opus

Opus Road Train Member

Dec 18, 2011
    South GA
    It's not always about RPM. You should also be concerned about miles per week and delay/detention pay. KLLM runs reefers.....lots of early AM deliveries and sitting.

Bud A., TripleSix, 77fib77 and 9 others Thank this.
  5. NorthEastTrucker

NorthEastTrucker Medium Load Member

Sep 21, 2019
    $0.55 cpm * 2500 mi = $1375/week which is around $70k with a week vacation. Considering the times we are in thats just under the average rate of $0.60 cpm.

6. aussiejosh

aussiejosh Road Train Member

Aug 28, 2009
    Airlie Beach QLd