Is it viable to be a solo owner operator?

Discussion in 'Ask An Owner Operator' started by BrandonA24, Jan 7, 2018.

1. BrandonA24

BrandonA24 Light Load Member

Oct 10, 2017
    California
    I'm a company driver but would one day like to run on my own authority. O/O is a world I'm just now learning about and I was wondering if you could have a lucrative income and decent/consistent runs as a solo o/o?

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. x1Heavy

x1Heavy Road Train Member

Mar 5, 2016
    White County, Arkansas
    Instead of focusing on mountains of gems, diamonds and good things in life try to make a list of what it costs to own, tax, drive, license, tag, fuel, tire a big truck.

It will be a bit of a learning curve. Don't do it until you have the resources, understanding etc.

In my time I bought a midroof for 41K which at that time was part of a facility school designed specifically to train company drivers into becoming a O/O over 4 years with a incredibly structured situation. The outfit was not more than a few hollars east of 81 above Carlise at that time period in the 90's when I got involved. Before I signed that paper I had spent three months carefully talking with one of the people there asking many questions. They were more than patient with me.

The reasons that was not successful has nothing to do with the situation other than the owner of the facility did discriminate against my hearing (In which we did not hear a word about up until I actually bought one of his trucks believe it or not...) and decided that he wont be having me in the program. And that was that.