Is this acceptable and realistic?

Discussion in 'Seek Employment' started by alex24, Apr 17, 2023.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. alex24

alex24 Bobtail Member

Apr 17, 2023
    Hello,

I am an economy student who is really interested in trucking. I have spent a lot of time learning about trucks, regulations, brokers, shippers, dispatching, etc.
    I want to start working. My idea is to find a owner operator who would be glad to hand over all administrative, load-finding, paperwork, etc. to me. I would me glad to work 2-3 moths for free and do whatever he needs me to do. After a "trial" or "learning" period, I would like to continue working for a fee that would be determinated by OO it self.

Would you, as an owner operator, accept such an offer? Why or why not?

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. roundhouse

roundhouse Road Train Member

Jul 11, 2018

I wouldn’t, since you have zero real world experience but I think you’re going about this backwards

Instead of finding an o/o to practice on , it seems it would be better for you to find someone who currently does what you’re wanting to learn , who isn’t afraid to share what they’ve learned how to do .

that might be impossible though .

truckers and dispatchers generally do not like to share what they know since they think that will increase the competition so
    Much that they won’t be able to make a profit anymore .

GreenPete359 Thanks this.
  4. alex24

alex24 Bobtail Member

Apr 17, 2023
    Thank you for the answer. My way of thinking was that OO that works everything by himself would find a good deal exchanging his knowledge wor a pair of extra hands.

5. GreenPete359

GreenPete359 Road Train Member

Oct 21, 2017
    Driving my recliner
    Like @roundhouse said, you’re approach is a bit backwards.