It's your fault.

Discussion in 'Experienced Truckers' Advice' started by FoolsErrand, Aug 17, 2019.

1. FoolsErrand

FoolsErrand Road Train Member

Sep 15, 2017
    Now that ive got your attention...

I have an overactive brain that doesnt let me sleep much. When a nagging problem invades my brain, especially now that im a driver with uninteruppted hours by the dozen, it just ponders and ponders until i feel i gain clarity on the root of a problem and determine if i have any capacity to change it. Do i contribute to the problem? Maybe i am the problem?

Its no secret truckers today are overworked, underpaid, overstressed and generally abused by the outrageous rules that govern us. So we all conjugate to piss and moan and vent and point fingers. Im guilty of it all the time.

....The problem is always the other guy.

The noobs, the steering wheel holders, the trained monkeys, trainees and supertruckers, youtube mega drivers, hotheads, slowpokes, foreigners. The net thats been cast is big enough that any incident will almost always catch one of them in it when the damage is being assessed.

So they are ignorant, incompetent, unaware. Fine. They dont know what you know. And when you and your salty veteran buddies are gone, trucking sure is gonna go downhill because everyone else is a shmuck, right?

Well.. Thats where im finding the root of the problem.

Who have you trained? Who have you taken under your wing? Are you a mentor back at base to the young ones, or just a tormentor when they give you the chance to talk about them?