JCAT introducing himself

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by thediscgolfdude, Jul 19, 2018.

1. thediscgolfdude

thediscgolfdude Bobtail Member

Jul 16, 2018
    What's up fellow drivers?! Jcat here! I'm currently seriously considering becoming an OTR driver. I've been a taxi driver and Uber/Lyft "chaffeur" for quite some time. I've racked up 500k miles over the years, so I'm pretty experienced when it comes to that profession. I'm very used to long hours, especially now that Uber has driven our fare rates so low. Lot's of experience driving in a dangerous city in all kinds of conditions. Currently drive a compact SUV. That's a little bit of background for you.

Anyway, I am really excited about driving team OTR, and of course, the more I research, the more questions I have. I've boiled it down to a couple of specialties, both involving OTR. I'm really only interested in team driving, not for the extra money (that's only part of the incentive), but because it seems like if you do hit it off with someone and they are good drivers, you are safer because of it. Not really interested in hanging out much in truck stops or sleeping in their lots overnight.

Since I'm down with team long distance driving between points A and B, the 2 positions I'm most interested in are dry van OTR (the more distance between A and B, the better, as my personal preference. The reason being, I want to travel and see the more remote parts of the country. I'd actually prefer to be out in less populated regions for the most part.