John Christner Trucking - My Trucking Home

Discussion in 'Discuss Your Favorite Trucking Company Here' started by jakebrake58, May 26, 2017.

1. jakebrake58

jakebrake58 Light Load Member

Jan 20, 2011
    Orange Park, Florida
    This post is to detail my time here at JCT. I have been in the industry for over 25 years, I was an owner operator before coming to JCT. I have been here for a little over a year and my wife has been here for a little over 6 months. So my take on JCT comes from both team and solo. My desire with this post is to give quality information to those of you who may be considering coming to JCT.

First I want to preface my comments with some disclaimers. If you are considering JCT and you have an expectation of being home every weekend or every other weekend then this is not the place for you. You will not succeed here if that's your preference in your trucking career. If you are not interested in running to the west coast (California, Washington, Oregon, Arizona, Nevada) then you wont be happy here. The miles we run are mostly to the west coast and back to central and southeast US.

If you are considering JCT, come here to run - come here to work. You are entering into a lease operator position where you are responsible for the operating expenses of the truck you lease (Lease payments, insurance, fuel, maintenance, etc.) These expenses are weekly and you can't pay them nor can you make any money if you don't want to work. Your expectation should be to run for a solid three to four week period then take you some time off. Make your money, then go home. There is no requirement as to how long you must stay out from JCT, its all up to you - you are the lease operator and you are in business for yourself - you are making the decisions. All I'm saying here is that in order to succeed here you need to be smart about how operate.