Keep volvo or sale

Discussion in 'Ask An Owner Operator' started by joseph1853, Jul 14, 2016.

1. joseph1853

joseph1853 Heavy Load Member

Dec 12, 2010
    Waco, TX
    My uncle died and left me his 2006 Volvo VNL. He bought it brand new and leased it onto dart until 4 or so years ago at which point they were trying to force him to put a electric logging device on his truck and he ended up quitting because of that driving it home parking it in the yard and there it sits currently. I'm a truck driver also have had my cdl for around 9 years and probably have around 3 to 4 years experience driving. I'm thinking about getting out of doing the company driver thing and leasing that Volvo onto a company. I've always been a entrepreneurial type person good with numbers, multi-talented, mechanically inclined etc so I think I could do it successfully that is.. My concern is whether or not I should continue with this truck or just sale it and get another one. I've heard Volvo's are expensive to work on and the resale values on them are not much among other things. It also has some rust on the frame, mechanic told me it's just surface rust and that it can be sand blasted and repainted and that it wasn't a big deal really. Probably going to need some break work, battery's etc. Also the truck has over a million miles on it and it will probably need tires even though they have plenty of tread but it has set for some time and people have said that they will have probably developed flat spots and could possible cause some serious stress on the road and all.. Part of me want's to fix it up just enough to get it moving and sale it because of the great possibility it will be a can of warms, another part wants to fix it up and just run with it considering I will have no payments and I do have some knowledge on were and what this truck has been through which you probably won't get buying off a dealers lot. It's been owned by one veteran truck driver and it's pulled refer's all over the