local NC work?

Discussion in 'Seek Employment' started by chief, Feb 18, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. chief

chief Heavy Load Member

Jul 15, 2007
    Flavor Country, NC
    anybody know of local work I could do in North Carolina? I have over 2 years experience OTR. I have no desire to go back OTR or go back to 14-16 hour work days. in other words, I'm no longer interested in giving up my life in order to make a living. I hauled fuel for 2 days but couldn't do the strenuous physical labor involved. basically I'm looking for a reasonable 8 hour day without having to strain my guts out moving stuff. the trucking job I would like most likely doesn't exist, does it?

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Designors

Designors Light Load Member

Sep 23, 2007
    NM
    I was going to suggest fuel truck .... plenty of companies there for it .... but you already tried that .... as for the 8 hour job .... doubt it .... the only thing that I would be able to suggest with that is a small job somewheres that probably pays $8 / hr

4. LuckyLady7

LuckyLady7 <strong>Good Luck Charm</strong>

Nov 8, 2007
    South Carolina

Have you looked on CraigsList? There was a man in Shelby looking for a truck driver....home nights and weekends....try and see if he is still posted there under transportation....good luck!

5. MedicineMan

MedicineMan Road Train Member

Jan 13, 2007
    Woodville, TX
    Got news for ya bud. I have work more 14 hour days working local than otr. And the pay is lousy usually.
    But around here there is allot of logging and chip trucks around. Oil field stuff too. pay just isn't all that great

6. PigPen

PigPen Light Load Member

Jan 28, 2008
    Sumter, SC
    my suggestion would be logs/chips or livestock, depending on where you are in nc. i wouldn't bet on finding that 8 hr job though.

7. bbkeo

bbkeo Light Load Member

Oct 7, 2007