Local tanker to OTR flatbed

Discussion in 'Flatbed Trucking Forum' started by angrytrans, Jun 9, 2018.

1. angrytrans

angrytrans Light Load Member

Feb 18, 2018
    Woodsfield,OH
    My wife and I have been driving tanker local for a few years now. Im ex army and diesel mechanic, she is a ex CDL instructor for a CDL course at a local college. We both left our tank jobs and went to a towing company for a few months. I ran heavy wrecker and flatbed and she ran flat, but it only lasted about 3 months due to not agreeing with managment, so we went back to the tanker outfit. Now we approaching the empty nesters lifestyle and want to go OTR, we have saved $20,000 to get our own truck and plan to lease to mercer ( IV read the entire mercer thread and it took 6 months to do so) but they won't hire us without a year of OTR .so IV talked to Melton maverick and TMC .Looking mainly towards maverick. Anyone know any better outfits in the southern Ohio area that may be interested in us?

Oldironfan Thanks this.
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. aussiejosh

aussiejosh Road Train Member

Aug 28, 2009
    Airlie Beach QLd
    Wow and double wow you've got to be the 2 most experienced potential team drivers i've yet to meet both with multiple qualifications, not sure why the mega's would knock you back though your wife surely could sign on as a trainer unless they feel she's not qualified to teach drivers what to do while driving OTR? Any way i can't see you having a problem getting a new start doing 12 months with a company then getting your own truck the future issues you will have though is managing your own company now all the problems will be transferred onto you, with $20,000 unless you get a lease you won't be able to buy a very new truck.

angrytrans Thanks this.
  4. Chinatown

Chinatown Road Train Member

Aug 28, 2011
    Henderson, NV & Orient