Log book Violation

Discussion in 'Trucking Industry Regulations' started by Trouble65, Jan 23, 2009.

1. Trouble65

Trouble65 Medium Load Member

Jan 11, 2009
    Ontario Canada
    I got pulled over in Indiana, speeding 71mph in a 65mph zone.
    The police officer sat in my truck and inspected my log and asked me where I was going? I told him I'm getting off on exit 134 about 7 miles away.

At this moment he left the truck with the log bok in his hand. He came back to me and explained to me I'm being charged for violating the 11 and 14 hour rule. I was over by 1 hour on both. I could not figure it out. Then I realized my mistake, the time zone change. I use the clock on my cell phone. When you get into a new time zone it changes automatically. He stated I must have gotten confused because of the time zones.

I'm a Canadian truck driver, the officer wrote out 2 tickets. 1 being the speeding violation the other log book violation. However on the log book violation he wrote down the wrong birth day information.

My question is;
    Can this ticket can be thrown out of court?

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. shredfit1

shredfit1 Road Train Member

Nov 24, 2008
    MN
    Is your reasoning being?... I'm expected to keep up to date, legible, and CORRECT information in my log book at ALL times. In fact, I'm breaking the law if a do not.

Isn't it reasonable that an officer writing a citation could/should be held to the SAME extremely high CORRECTNESS standards that I am being held?

Officers make a mistake= Ooops
    Truckers make a mistake= citation/jail

:biggrin_2554:

Unlikely your tickets can be thrown out. Sorry.

4. Kabar

Kabar Road Train Member

Nov 5, 2008
    Pell City Al