Looking to expand or change and need some help

Discussion in 'Ask An Owner Operator' started by ATTransport, Feb 1, 2007.

1. ATTransport

ATTransport Bobtail Member

Feb 1, 2007
    First I will apologize if I ask a bunch of questions you guys have answered over and over.

My background is auto mechanics (5 years). I got tired of busting my knuckles and decided to try something different but still in the auto industry.

I bought myself 1 Rollback tow truck, new, 26000 gvw (no cdl). I have been in business for myself a little over 1 year. Business is good and I'm fine in the financials dept. I love driving the truck and being on the road but for a long time I've had the desire to drive a "big" truck long distance.

I am trying to research the O/O aspect of trucking to see if it would be feasible to expand my current operations or go in another direction entirely.

I see that most companies hiring O/O require OTR experience which I have none. I absolutely cannot drive for a company to get the experience. I cannot leave my business, home, and other responsibilities while driving for weeks at a time. Also I could not pay my bills on the starting salary of a co. driver. So I did some more research and found some websites like Getloaded and Freightfinder that claim for a monthly fee to give you access to as many loads as you can handle. Is anyone out there using these services and what are your experiences with them? Would it be possible to keep a truck busy by only using services like them? From what the websites look like, it seems to be to good/easy to be true. So I have to assume it is.

With the towing business, even though under cdl weight, I am still required to have DOT and MC numbers, which I do. So I am familiar with some aspects of the transportation industry, but dont know much about the big trucks.

The websites I mentioned before make it seem like with a truck, trailer and authority you can easily keep on rollin' along picking up loads where ever you go.