Making it Work

Discussion in 'May Trucking' started by squaredeal, Aug 27, 2010.

1. squaredeal

squaredeal Bobtail Member

Dec 19, 2009
    Phoenix AZ
    I have been reading everyone's comments and questions about May and the trucking industry. I have learned much from many different drivers. I have been driving for over 20 years and really appreciate this web site because it gives us a chance to share our experiences, good or bad.

Just like many truck drivers I have much of the same concerns: 1) How many miles will I be driving per week? 2) How often will I be home and for how long? 3) Are they just another "training company" for newbies? What about experienced drivers? 4) Will they treat me with respect?

The first thing that I have alway had to address is my relationship with my family. OTR driving requires sacrifice on many different levels. For me it has been long hours behind the wheel, bad weather, difficulty in staying healthy and homesickness (yes, even after 20 years).

I am married to an incredibly strong woman. The old cliche' "Behind every good man stands a good woman" has been around a long time and every word of it has been true for me. My wife is an AMAZING woman.

Getting good miles requires proper trip planning and good communication with my DM. She needs to know where I will be, when I will be there and how many hours I will have available when empty. It is hard to manage your resources when you don't know what they are.

There have been and always will be Entry Level Drivers. Some of us "old" guys (I am only 52) will have to hang up our keys someday and America relies on truckers to get what they need when they need it. I believe that helping new drivers get a good start in this profession is important. It's not for everybody and many will choose to go another route after a few weeks on the road. If it were not for an experienced driver who cared, I would not have made it in 1987 when I started.