Mileage Pay for Owner/Lease Operators

Discussion in 'Ask An Owner Operator' started by IrreverentCrawfish, Sep 12, 2018.

1. IrreverentCrawfish

IrreverentCrawfish Light Load Member

Jan 31, 2017
    'Merica
    I'm fairly new to both the trucking industry and the independent contractor side of things, and I've been wondering something. I keep on seeing all of these companies that pay independent contractors by the mile, and they seem to hover around $1.00-$1.10 per mile. I lease at Prime, and I get paid 72% of gross revenue on the load plus FSC which typically works out to somewhere between $1.50 and $2.50 per mile after I account for deadhead miles. Is there some other way that the mileage pay companies pay their contractors or some expenses that they subsidize to make that a compelling deal? Or is that really as bad of a deal as it sounds like?

Rideandrepair Thanks this.
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Diesel Dave

Diesel Dave Last Few of the OUTLAWS

Jan 20, 2010
    Hesperia, Ca.
    How’s that working out for you since your new to all the this ?

4. Midwest Trucker

Midwest Trucker Road Train Member

Aug 31, 2018
    Most of those are the 1 or 1.10 as a base rate before fuel surcharge. So you might end up in the 1.35 to 1.45 range. Most are for loaded miles only and then will be just the base rate if not a bit lower for empty miles. Some pay for everything, some nickel and dime you for different things.

Many of the percentage outfits charge you for just about everything. So 85% could end up being 65 or 70%. Or a 65% could end up being higher actual money in your pocket because they pay for everything. Also, something to keep in mind is 80% of 1000 is 800 but if a 65% company runs the loads for 1300 plus charges you for less things, you would have made 50 more dollars plus been charged for less. Make sense?