military driving

Discussion in 'Trucking Jobs' started by mlrs270, Nov 4, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mlrs270

mlrs270 Light Load Member

May 15, 2008
    winston salem nc
    i currently drive fulltime for the ARMY in NC? I have a NC Class A CDL will any company accept that type of experience? im a federal servce technician any advice will help

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Big Don

Big Don "Old Fart"

Sep 8, 2007
    Utah's DIXIE!
    I don't know. But I would think about the only way to find out is to check with some of the smaller companies. I would be willing to bet you a cup of coffee that none of the majors would accept it, unless you were willing to go through their schools, just like any other newbie.

Now, I have a question. Do you NEED the state CDL to drive a military rig? Or is a military driver's license accepted. Do they even do military driver's licenses any more?

4. mlrs270

May 15, 2008
    winston salem nc
    no i got my cdl on my own! just took my military driving license to them and they accepted it!

Big Don Thanks this.
  5. broncrider

broncrider Road Train Member

very few states will accept a military licencse any more, due to some old motor sergeants who would licencse thier buddy on anything they wanted

if you a tech, then yer guard correct?

i do know the even watkins shepard wont accept military experiance, not even the guard heavy hual guys (they hual the M1's and bradleys around the state of MT) and they drive western stars

6. MUSTANGGT

MUSTANGGT Road Train Member

Feb 21, 2009
    Georgia
    That's how I got my start, but sure things have changed a good bit.
    Could drive and back well enough to pass company road test and got my Class 5 on my own. Simpler then.