Mortgage for owner operator for house??

Discussion in 'Ask An Owner Operator' started by Chris50, Mar 2, 2013.

1. Chris50

Chris50 Medium Load Member

Jun 21, 2010
    Florida
    Hey Im trying to buy my first home and want any advice from anyone who was able to get a mortgage loan as an owner operator.. Im in my 3rd year as owner op so i have 2 years of tax returns but with per diem and depreciation plus ira deductions my income is below the poverty line.. I did read where some places will add back in the depreciation but im not sure thats going to be enough for a $200k loan with $50k down..... I can easily pay the mortgage and i would still have over $100k in the bank/stocks/iras but after reading more it looks like other assets arent much help they go by adjusted income.....Any advice or input appreciated, lender or broker names and numbers??? thx

Chris

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. SHC

SHC Spoiled Rotten Brat O/O

Feb 26, 2011
    Westville, IN
    I lucked out and a family friend was the president of the local credit union when I got my house.... But with $50k down you should have good luck with finding a lender. Because when you purchase the house you will already be on the positive side of the equity. So even if you don't make a single payment and they forclose, they will still make money. And that's all a bank usually care about is the bottom line. Good luck on your purchase..... And to make things better, why not go around to banks and get foreclosure listings from them. They are much more willing to finance a home they already own and want to get out from under. Just a thought

Dominick253, Grijon and Chris50 Thank this.
  4. Chris50

Chris50 Medium Load Member

Jun 21, 2010
    Florida