motor carrier income possibility

Discussion in 'Ask An Owner Operator' started by dugger, Apr 19, 2019.

1. dugger

dugger Bobtail Member

Apr 19, 2019
    hello guys. hope you're having a good day. I am a company driver at the moment and I have about 35k saved up. I live in southern California. if all willing, I plan on purchasing a used truck and maybe for about a year go owner op and lease onto a decent company to learn "lanes" and in's and out's of owning my own truck. I plan on becoming a MC after that. I had a few questions maybe you guys can help out with. I'm trying to be proactive and learn as much as possible before hand.
    questions
    1. Should I only put 5k down on a truck and make payments and maybe put some money aside for maint and put depending on the truck and what it will need some money into it before i pull a load?

2. I know this depends on what lane you have and who you work with and ect.. but can some of you break down numbers as a MC expenses and how much you guys net after all gross the truck makes? i'm asking because i have 2 kids and a wife and having a general idea of a range would at least help me make certain decisions financially. For a fact I understand not two peoples numbers will look the same or even close and there are many factos that go into it. just a rough idea of possible NET income not gross and how many miles on that NET per week you need to drive? Can you also specify what kind of trailer you pull? dryvan ect..

3. any advice on how to prepare from what i hear is normal winter Slow down season in rates right now.. people are freaking out but I spoke to one owner op and he said people just don't understand that rates have always been this way from jan-march.