My First Truck

Discussion in 'Motor Carrier Questions - The Inside Scoop' started by StewBurner2015, Dec 26, 2017.

1. StewBurner2015

StewBurner2015 Bobtail Member

Dec 26, 2017
    Hello Fellow drivers,

Need some advice, or information on the next few steps I will be talking with my new truck. Currently I am driver for Knight Transportation as a Van driver part time on the weekends, also I am a dump truck driver for Logan development in Kingston Washington.

I just received an awesome deal on a 1991 White GMC day cab with a Cat engine that can pull just about anything, I was lucky to pick this tractor for only 5000 dollars and get this it runs fantastic with only 250,000 miles on it.

My questions, I know about Van work and I know dump work. I am currently looking for a trailer for my truck and looking on what jobs I want to be doing. I was thinking about equipment hauling, End dumping trailer or van. I have experience in all them. For all you Super truckers out there that have been doing this a really long time, please lend this old Veteran some information and help me get my foot in the right direction.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. slickWillie1980

slickWillie1980 Medium Load Member

Sep 2, 2015
    Mt Olive, NC
    If there ain't no pics it don't exist!!

4. Justrucking2

Justrucking2 Road Train Member

Sep 12, 2017
    Plymouth MI
    Dude, you are the super trucker! Call some of your buds, see who needs what and if they are willing to lease you on. If not, get your own authority. Call some insurance companies to see what the rates are for your type of work. I haul freight, no idea what it costs to insure dirt. ;-)

5. Diesel Dave

Diesel Dave Last Few of the OUTLAWS

Jan 20, 2010
    Hesperia, Ca.
  6. DUNE-T

DUNE-T Road Train Member

May 10, 2015
    Detroit, MI
    It's probably 1 mil 250k...

Snotrockettt Thanks this.
  7. Justrucking2