Nashville liquor store owner, 88, explains why she shot shoplifter.

Discussion in 'Other News' started by Chinatown, Jun 21, 2020.

  1. gentleroger

    gentleroger Road Train Member

    Jun 1, 2010

    My bet is that if the prosecutor has to pursue the case he makes an "error" which results in aquittal.

    Too those who are saying things like "this sends a message and theives will think twice " - yeah, they might just decide to shoot first and empty the entire store instead of grabbing a bottle.
    bigguns and PE_T Thank this.
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

    Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

    Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

  3. Deadwood

    Deadwood Light Load Member

    Dec 24, 2016
    That is $950 for every crime. California is a total #### show. There are stories of criminals walking into a Starbucks, strong arm robbing someone's laptop and then casually leaving. The person robbed calls the cops who tell him that it's probably less than $950 and to go to the police station and fill out a form and they'll get to it when they can.

    Note that the solution to this problem if you're the victim is not to shoot the thief. California hates guns and sympathizes with criminals and illegals over taxpaying citizens. The solution is to wise up and move the hell out of California. It's quickly moving towards becoming a failed state.
    bigguns, Chinatown and rachi Thank this.
  4. Chinatown

    Chinatown Road Train Member

    Aug 28, 2011
    Henderson, NV & Orient
    From what I've read about that, the cap is "per incident."
    bigguns Thanks this.
  5. PE_T

    PE_T Road Train Member

    “Like many states, California classifies theft offenses according to the value of the property taken. California law measures the value of stolen property by the reasonable and fair market value of the property...”

    “Grand theft is theft of property with a value of $950 or more, which is a felony under California law, and punishable by a term of imprisonment in state prison for 16 months, two years, or three years, depending on the situation. (Cal. Pen. Code, § § 487, 666.)”

    California Laws on Petty Theft, Shoplifting, and Grand Theft
    bigguns Thanks this.
  6. buddyd157

    buddyd157 Road Train Member

    May 25, 2017
    New England area
    yeah thanks, i am late to this party today. but basically, i would have said the same thing, "self incrimination"

    why don't people just keep quiet, until they speak to a lawyer?

    "anything you say or do, can be used AGAINST YOU in a court of law"

    Dragnet, 101, Adam 12, 101, Mancuso FBI, 101
    bigguns, PE_T, mjd4277 and 1 other person Thank this.
  • Truckers Report Jobs

    Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

    Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

  • Draft saved Draft deleted