Need Advice form O/O Veterans

Discussion in 'Ask An Owner Operator' started by Jarheaddriver, Jan 27, 2010.

1. Jarheaddriver

Jarheaddriver Light Load Member

Jan 27, 2008
    Anna, TX
    I am looking to purchase a truck next month and move on to being an Owner Operator. I have been crunching numbers for the past 2 months, and everything looks good. I just want to get some insight from the O/O Veterans out there, so I can see if my numbers are even close to accurate.

How much can I expect to make a month if I getting 80% of the load revenue. and 100% of the FSC. I am figuring at least $9000/month gross. I have been told by some that I should expect to make between $3500 and $4400 a week gross.

Just not sure with the economy running the way it is right now. Also, I have not decided if I will run Dry Van or Flat I do know that Flat typically pays a little better then Dry van, but not sure if loads are there...

Any suggestions, or comments would be great.:banghead:

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. MedicineMan

MedicineMan Road Train Member

Jan 13, 2007
    Woodville, TX
    it's not what you can make that counts. it's what you can keep. Gross income is a useless number in this business. I can gros $15k in a month but i'm still broke and have one foot on the unemployment line at the end of the month. trucking is a high capital business and the cash flows rapidly through it

4. blackw900

blackw900 The Grandfather of Flatbed

Jul 12, 2009
    A.W.O.L
    I do about $4500 to $6000 a week gross on average and see about $7000 a month net. Last year it was considerably harder to maintain the average but I came real close.
    You have to be very disciplined with money and treat your equipment with kid gloves so as not to cost yourself money needlessly.
    I pull for a guy that won't accept cheap freight so I don't have that battle to fight all the time.