Need advice relating to accident, and personal injury.

Discussion in 'Experienced Truckers' Advice' started by Discount Iceman, Dec 9, 2022.

1. Discount Iceman

Discount Iceman Bobtail Member

Dec 9, 2022
    Hello everyone,

Thanks for taking a moment to read. I have read this forum on and off since I became a professional driver, and never thought I'd have anything to contribute.

I have been a team driver with one of the larger expedited companies for about 18 months. About a week ago, when my co-driver and I were starting our trip, I went sleeper berth overnight, and he was first to drive, as is our routine. On an isolated stretch of the interstate, he fell asleep, crashed the truck up the side of a mountain, and then refused a drug test, resulting in his termination. I suffered a few injuries, which will limit my ability to work for a few weeks, require therapy, and more than that... it sucks. I hurt everywhere, can't use my phone or watch television, and am nearly immobile.

Does anyone here have experience or advice related to the personal injury aspect of this, and would you feel it is worth exploring? Right now my injuries are being handled through worker's compensation, but my spouse is angry about the lost income and the actual injuries, and wants to explore our legal options, if there are any. I am looking at physical therapy, and if that does not work, surgery, but I hope it doesn't come to that. But I'm wondering if I even can do anything about it, or should. I don't want to sound like an opportunist or scumbag, but also am concerned about my ability to earn in the future. Do you guys consider this worth exploring? Is the industry and your court experience slanted in such a way as to make it a waste of time?

Many thanks in advance.

bryan21384 and LtlAnonymous Thank this.
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Lennythedriver

Lennythedriver Road Train Member