Need Lawyer in CA

Discussion in 'Trucker Legal Advice' started by xr7conv, Sep 8, 2007.

1. xr7conv

xr7conv Light Load Member

I know, I know I should not have gotten a ticket - should not have been speeding. No good excuse. Was driving south on I5 into LA area coming down hills. Had been coming down hills and speed limit had not changed. Then they change it to 40 for trucks and I am not paying attention. Got a ticket for 54 in a 40. Officer was polite just wrote the ticket didn't even check the log - which was current! He told me he wrote it down had me at over 60 - I don't think I was going that fast as I am new at this and very conservative - don't want to die or kill someone. I was just working with the gears and the jake brake to see what would hold what without brakeing too much or at all. Again - not making an excuse cause I didn't see the limit change. Just an idiot.

Anyway, I want to check with a lawyer in the area and see if this is worth fighting. Don't want the points and the insurance cost forever. What a racket this is. If it just didn't affect insurance I would pay it and learn from it. But car insurance is crazy already with a 16 year old male driver at home.

Any help appreciated.

Thanks!

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. tammytell

tammytell Light Load Member

Sep 14, 2007
    tulsa,ok
    I wouldn't worry about it. Most states don't even recognize Calif. and or OHIO. Most of us get tickets in those two states as they target truck drivers. You might ask other truckers in Georgia but , more than likely it won't show up on your dac.

4. BobC

BobC Medium Load Member

Jul 8, 2007
    Cincinnati, slOhio
    It may not show up on your DAC right away but it will show on your driving record.

Get a lawyer to minimize that charge.

You have to be carefull in dismissing these things because the way they get written can be seriously damaging.