New Entrant Safety Audit

Discussion in 'Experienced Truckers' Advice' started by JohnSmith69, Mar 30, 2020.

1. JohnSmith69

JohnSmith69 Light Load Member

Feb 23, 2020
    I'm freaking out here, I got an email saying they're auditing me. I'm new in this industry and I hardly know what I'm doing. I'm an owner operator and I work on the oil fields in northern Colorado . All of my pick ups and drop offs are within 115 mile radius and I did some research saying that I don't have to have a driver log because my travels are short. Are they gonna put me out of business if I'm wrong about this? Any help would be greatly appreciate

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. JohnSmith69

Feb 23, 2020
    I did research and found an 100 "air-mile" exemption rule for short distance hauling, do I fall into this category?

4. Cat sdp

Cat sdp . .

Apr 8, 2012
    Orion's Belt
    You’d think they would have more to worry about now......

Yes I’d claim the 100 mile rule. You still need some kind of record of hours tho.

Dino soar, magoo68, PE_T and 1 other person Thank this.
  5. crocky

crocky Road Train Member

Jun 28, 2017

Are they doing the email audit or at your place of business? I just finished up the email Safety Audit and it was cake walk. Actually just got the letter in the mail today saying I passed.

If it's a first year audit, they wont be trying to beat you down, but rather advise you if you are doing something wrong.

Oh for the record when they did mine here in FL on the Hours they just wanted 30 days of logs and then wanted a handful of receipts to that corresponded to the logs.. but I'm OTR with a MC# not under 100 miles.

JohnSmith69 and 650cat425 Thank this.
  6. JohnSmith69

Feb 23, 2020