New owner-operator

Discussion in 'The Welcome Wagon' started by Eltigre363, Aug 14, 2019.

1. Eltigre363

Eltigre363 Bobtail Member

Aug 14, 2019
    Greetings my fellow drivers, I followed the footsteps of my father who is also a trucker and I'm now one of us. I'm a local driver with about 5 years of experience and accident free so far thankfully. While I was taught to drive a class A in my father's rig, I drive class B trucks hauling gravel locally. My original goal was to become an OTR driver like my father, I decided I liked working locally better once I first started driving as a rookie on a Kenworth T800 tri axle dump truck back in the summer of 2014. As the years went buy, I gradually moved up to larger dump trucks and now, I recently became an owner-operator with my own 7 axle super dump truck. I'm still learning new things everyday as my father of over 35 years of trucking says that's even true for him too. Now, I'm beginning to learn how to maintain and even repair small things on my truck since that will help keep cost down such as lights, oil changes, coolant flushes, filter changes and that sort of thing at first. A friend of mine who is a diesel mechanic will begin showing me how to tackle more complex repairs and troubleshooting on the weekends since I only work Monday through Friday.