new to trucking/first orientation disaster

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by JIMVAL, Feb 1, 2007.

1. JIMVAL

JIMVAL Bobtail Member

Feb 1, 2007
    michigan
    I graduated from trucking school on 1/12/07 and have had one bad experience in orientation with gainey. got pre hired and drove my own car to grand rapids. first they didnt even have my name at the hotel so i payed for my own room. The first day went really good, did the drivers test first, then went for drug test. day 2 was fine all the way till 4 pm when they asked me to leave. I ask why and they just said front office wont hire you at this time. WOW I was pissed. I just got home yesterday and am now searching for a company again that has a pet policy. any advice from you would be great, thanks.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Jonny1

Jonny1 Medium Load Member

Jan 14, 2007
    Nashville, TN
    Just a heads up if you have a dog, and your a new driver. It's a new trend that is starting among the bigger, better companies. Many have a pet policy, but as a 1st year driver you do not qualify to have a pet in the truck with you, until you have been driver for at least a year. Many of the recruiters do not seem to know this, I found out by a trainer prior to taking a postion. Sometimes, you have to point blank ask them to check with safety, and they come back stating, yes indeed its a new policy they were unaware of. Its hard enough to find & pay for boarding at a quality kennel for 5 weeks, much less 1 year.

I totally understand why they feel a pet could become a distraction for a new driver.....but it would be nice to know before oreintation. Some recruiters will hint at it saying, "Well we really perfer you not have a pet that first year, as you will have so much to get used to in your new life style" I have heard that canned statement more then once.

4. Cerberus101